Haridwar to Kedarnath distance

Ditance between Haridwar to kedarnath.
Haridwar to Kedarnath Distance

Haridwar and Kedarnath distance  can be divided into two parts.

  1. Morable Road: This is the route that can be covered by a vehicle. The last point that tourists can reach by vehicle is Gaurikund in Rudraprayag district.
  2. Trekking Route: The trekking route starts from Gaurikund to Kedarnath. This is a very tough trek of about 14 to 15 km.

Motrable Road: Haridwar to Gaurikund

Devprayag Uttarakhand
Devprayag ,Uttarakhand

In this article, we will discuss the complete route from Haridwar to Kedarnath. This post will provide you with a comprehensive overview and the ideal times to travel.

The last railway station near Kedarnath is Haridwar Railway Station. After that, tourists travel by bus or taxi. The distance between Haridwar and Kedarnath is around 250 kilometres.

The following places fall between Haridwar and Kedarnath: 

Haridwar – Rishikesh-Devprayag- Srinagar- Rudraprayag- Gupkashi-Gaurikund

  1. Haridwar: This is the last town where railways can be used to reach it from all over India. However, the last railway station is also in Rishikesh, but trains are limited to this station. You can visit various ghats in Haridwar and take a holy bath in the Haridwar Ganga River. Hari ki pauri is the famous ghat of Haridwar. You can take buses from Haridwar to Kedarnath every hour.

  2. Rishikesh: This is the last station where tourists can reach by train, but trains are limited to here. This town is famous for adventure activities and river rafting. The distance between Haridwar and Rishikesh is around 30 kilometres.
  3. Devprayag :The distance between Rishikesh and Devprayag is around 70 km. Devprayag is a well-known destination for tourists. After Baghirathi and Alaknada merged, the Ganga came into existence in this location. In Devprayag, tourists can go to Ganga Arti.
  4. Srinagar: After 35 km from Devprayag, tourists reach Srinagar, one of the largest towns on this route, and all facilities are available for travellers.
  5. Rudraprayag: This is the district headquarters of Kedarnat. The distance between Srinagar and Rudraprayag is around 30 km.
  6. Gaurikund: From Rudraprayag, the road passes through the towns of Agastyamuni and Guptkashu before reaching Gaurikund, located around 72 kilometres from Rudraprayag. Gaurikund is the base camp for the trek to Kedarnath and is named after Goddess Parvati, who is also known as Gauri. It is believed that Goddess Parvati meditated in Gaurikund before marrying Lord Shiva. From Gaurikund, pilgrims can trek 14 kilometres to reach Kedarnath or take a helicopter ride from Guptkashi or Phata.

Kedatnath Trek

Kedarnath trek

After Gaurikund, tourists have to trek to reach Kedarnath.

To know in detail read our article about Kedarnath trek : https://badrinathkedarnath.com/kedarnath-trek/

Leave a Comment